Skip to content

One More Plea for My Kitties

01/28/2012

Edited 01/31/12: Jules and Scooter have been adopted–hurrah that they’ve found loving new homes! Even if it means I won’t see them again. Bastet (ID A300990), Damon (ID A301148) and Shadow (ID A300988) are still in need of new homes, though, so please keep spreading the word.

It breaks my heart to report that Runyon, Patch and Blaze were all put down between my visit on Sunday and the time I arrived at the shelter today (it was closed yesterday). Runyon, who had been fine every time I saw him, apparently went ballistic when they took him out of his cage for a med check–got loose, needed a net to catch him, the whole nine yards. Since it was the vet who recommended he be put down, I guess my boy didn’t have a chance. And Patch and Blaze never calmed down enough to be moved out of the feral cat ward–but then again, when I visited on Sunday, the gal I spoke to about them didn’t say there was any kind of note on their files that they were in danger.

My poor babies.

***************************************************************

Well, I had no takers for private adoptions of any of my last 8 cats in need of new homes…so I had to take them to the Pasadena Humane Society/SPCA. As of today, all are still available, but two of the girls, Patch and Blaze, are still so scared by the transition that they’re being kept in the feral cat ward.

This is not where I want them to be, if for no other reason than they’ll miss out on being adopted. Worse is that if they don’t calm down enough to join the general population, they may be put down as unadoptable. They are NOT feral–just scared witless, poor little things. According to the gal I spoke to at the admin desk, they will be reevaluated tomorrow; I’m going to visit again and, if they haven’t been put in the general pop, I’m going to try to talk my way into the feral ward to see if I can calm them down.

In the meantime, they’re all listed on the PHS website, so if you’re local to SoCal (or have friends/family who are) and can make a new home for any of my darlings, please visit the Pasadena Humane Society site and click on the heading to see all the adoptable animals. You can then either view all the cats, or search by ID number for:

ID A300990, Bastet
ID A300988, Shadow
ID A300987, Scooter
ID A300986, Jules
ID A301151, Runyon
ID A301150, Blaze
ID A301149, Patch
ID A301148, Damon

You (or your friends) can then contact the shelter and let them know which kitty/kitties you’d like to adopt. If they could possibly be adopted in pairs, best bets would be Bastet/Scooter, Jules/Shadow, Damon/Runyon and Patch/Blaze.

Again, please forward to those people you’d like to live with if you were a pet!

Previous posts on my kittehs–you can find photos and bios on both blog posts, as well as the reason I’ve had to do this:

https://sydshouseofcats.wordpress.com/2011/12/27/good-homes-please
https://sydshouseofcats.wordpress.com/2011/12/10/re-homing

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

