Skip to content

Re-Homing (updated)

12/10/2011

UPDATED 12/23/11:

After another reprieve (I swear, things went wrong in every way they could–and in a few I didn’t think were possible), I moved out on 12/19/11…and a couple of days later, Waffle and Stimpy went to their new home.  But the other darlings still need to be placed by the end of the year, so please continue to forward this to people you’d like to live with if you were a pet.  🙂

UPDATED 12/13/11:

Well, I got a reprieve, and then today I got another one: my new, final move-out is Friday, December 16 at 10:00 AM.  This is doable from a packing-and-storage standpoint.  I also have a solution for the cat situation, but it is very, very much a short-term solution and the re-homing of my cats shown in the original post still has to happen.  And the sooner the better.  So, if you were sent here by someone who knows me either personally or via a website I frequent, please give me the name/web identity of that person.  If you were directed here by a forwarded message, be aware that I’m in Southern California, so please take the distance factor into account.

I’m not asking a re-homing fee for myself, but I am asking potential adopters to be willing to make a donation to an animal rescue organization, and to bring that proof on our first meeting.  If you were adopting from a shelter or rescue organization, there’d be a fee involved as well, so this seems a reasonable compromise.  Any questions, please leave a comment; they’re moderated, so if you want an email back, you can leave that address in the comment and I will not publish it.

Thank you for reading.  Now I invite you to scroll down and meet my sweethearts.

*******************

Original post, 12/10/11:

I never thought it would come to this.  I thought somehow, someway, there’d be an answer that didn’t involve losing most of my cats.  But the lottery win hasn’t materialized, nor the Great Job (or enough freelance work to take the place of the Great Job).  So here I am, losing my house, a move-out date of Monday, December 12…and nowhere to keep the cats.  Hell, I don’t even know where I’m going to be sleeping on Monday night; pretty much every ad I’ve checked into for a rental has turned out to be some kind of scam.

But my cats.  My…yes, I’ll say it: my babies.  It fits for some of them, anyway, since I held them when they were newborns, bottle-fed the litter that was Momcat Phantom’s last.  Of the ones who came to me when they were older, well, I may just be the only home they’ve ever known.

No more.

I’ve been so stressed, so depressed about the very prospect of losing them, that I’ve left myself almost no choices, and next to no time.  And so, on the recommendation of a couple of different friends, I’m posting their photos and bios in the hope of a ta-da! nick of time miracle for them: safe loving homes with other people, by Monday.  With people who maybe won’t mind if I visit now and then.  🙂

So…photos and bios follow.  Be aware that, desperate as I am, this is not a give-the-cats-to-just-anybody post.  Comments are moderated, so if you give me the name of the person who sent you to this blog, I’ll know you’re on the up-and-up; that person should also have let you know my location, so you aren’t getting your hopes up about a cat who’s on the other side of the country.  And please provide your email address so I can contact you.  Again, comments are moderated, and I will NOT post comments containing private contact info.

Now, I’m not asking for money for any of the cats, but on the other hand, I’ve heard stories that pets who come without price tags wind up in very bad situations sometimes.  Instead of asking for money (for how could I sell my children, or the closest thing I’m likely to have), please be ready to provide proof of a donation of $35 or more to a no-kill shelter or animal rescue organization.

FYI, all the cats have been spayed/neutered, but due to money troubles, they’re behind on their shots and flea treatments.  And they’ve all been indoor cats since I adopted them.

I love them all very much, and doing this is about the hardest thing I’ve ever done.  I’m even inclined to ask if I can keep in touch with those who adopt my critters, in case that lottery win materializes down the road and I once again have a place where I can have all my cats.  But for now, I’ll settle for that little miracle.

Thanks for reading.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/12/2011 12:15 PM

    Oh…good luck!

  2. 12/14/2011 8:18 AM

    You’re the man. I only have 9.

Trackbacks

  1. Good Homes, Please? « Syd's House of Cats

Leave a Reply

